Happy Halloween!!


The day is finally here!  Halloween is one of my favourite holidays, second only to Christmas. I have always thought of Halloween as the apex of the Autumn season, a day when those things we tend to associate with Fall like the harvest, pumpkins, falling leaves,  cooling temperatures, and even death are at their strongest.  I think Halloween’s association with death, being a celebration on the night before All Saints’ Day (November 1st) and then All Souls’ Day (November 2nd) gives the day an eerie quality that allows us to honour those who have died and reflect on our own mortality.

Some memories of Halloween:

  • Carving jack-0-lanterns while listening to spooky music
  • Creating Halloween displays in front my house, complete with a cauldron and dry ice!
  • Going to the pumpkin patch to find the perfect pumpkin (and squashing a few too)
  • Trick-or-Treating in Mill Park (the ultimate destination)
  • Going to the Haunted House at the Homer Watson House
  • My sister’s treat bag breaking and spilling out all over the road (Pinnacle Drive)
  • Dressing up as a samurai warrior
  • Wearing my costume to school and the teacher not letting me go out for recess with the rest of the kids (I guess I was bad?!)
  • Seeing what Jack-o-lantern creation my Uncle Kevin makes every year
  • Watching Halloween Specials and movies, especially: It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown, Garfield Halloween Special, Simpsons Treehouse of Horror (various), Sleepy Hollow, and Dracula
  • and finally, calling up my cousin in North Bay and saying “Do you like scary movies” – at the exact same time he was watching Scream!  That really freaked him out!!
About carnagepcgame

I have been a PC gamer since 1988 when my dad brought home a Commodore Amiga 500 home for Christmas. My favourite genres are Racing and First Person Shooters.
This entry was posted in Life Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

