Dracula 1979 – My Favourite Dracula Film


Frank Langella as Dracula.  “Come here!”

Of the many films made about Dracula and vampires over the years, 1979s Dracula starring Frank Langella has to be my favourite of all-time.

Of course, Bela Lugosi’s Dracula (1931) will always hold a special place in my heart for being the original, but Frank’s sophisticated and suave portrayal of the Count really made an impression on me in my formative years.

I remember watching Frank’s performance in the 80s and thinking to myself, “man, that guy has the coolest voice I have ever heard.  No wonder he gets all the chicks!”  I also felt that the 1979 version seemed more “realistic” to me than the original.  Perhaps it was the use of colour and the gorgeous English countryside that did it for me, I don’t know.  I also thought that the scene where Professor Van Helsing (superbly played by Laurence Olivier) encounters his undead daughter Mina in the mines beneath her grave was one of the scariest depictions of a vampire I had ever seen.

I definitely recommend you check this one out if you want a slightly different take on the Dracula story.  I picked it up at Walmart for $5.00.

About carnagepcgame

I have been a PC gamer since 1988 when my dad brought home a Commodore Amiga 500 home for Christmas. My favourite genres are Racing and First Person Shooters.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

