XCOM: Enemy Unknown, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, or War of the Roses?


Greetings Friends;

It has been too long since I last logged in and wrote something – 11 days to be exact.  I will try to do better.  Fear not, I have been working with WordPress in a more ‘professional’ capacity at my workplace, which is why I have had little time or desire to write on my personal site.  But that is an excuse.  I have also been playing a lot of XCOM: Enemy Unknown, Chivalry: Medieval Warfare, and War of the Roses as of late.  I will talk about them below:

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

When I last wrote I talked briefly about my experiences with the XCOM demo.  I must have liked it, because soon after I went to EBGames and purchased the Special Edition boxed copy for $59.99 CDN.  As I have eluded to before, I prefer to buy a boxed copy of a game as opposed to a digital version, especially if there are free goodies inside the box!  It’s a bit like finding a prize in a Cracker Jack box.  Anyways, the Special Edition box had the following bits of awesomeness:  a fold out poster, an insignia patch (Vigilo Confido), and a high quality artbook.  I really love the artbook – there are some great pictures and the whole thing exudes quality.  Fantastic.

Regarding the game itself, I am really enjoying the campaign thus far.  I like how you can customize your squad, giving them really cool armour, weapons, haircuts, names, and callsigns.  I named my squad mates after my best buddies.  Sadly, however, my buddies and I were all slaughtered a few missions in.  Good thing there are always new recruits to take our place!!

Probably the thing I like best about the game is researching new weapons and technology and then getting to try it out in the missions.  The turn based nature of the game means that it is a little slower than what I am used to, but this encourages you to think about what you are doing, rather then running in screaming and getting yourself killed.  I will continue to play and see how it all pans out!

War of the Roses

This game has intrigued me for quite some time, and so I finally took the plunge and purchased it on Steam.  I have always liked medieval history, so this game, being grounded in the 15th century War of the Roses as the name suggests, was the perfect game to scratch my medieval itch.  Haha.

The game starts you off as one of four predefined classes: Footman, Crossbowman, Longbowman, and Footknight.  After advancing several levels, you have the opportunity to unlock a slot with in game currency so that you can customize your own class.  And customization is one of the many things that WOTR does very well.  You can customize just about anything in this game – your crest, amour (including colour), helmet, weapons (and weapon edges), and the materials that your weapons and armour are made of.  You can also select ‘perks’ a la Call of Duty style that enhance your abilities.  It’s wonderful.

The combat itself is incredibly brutal as the above picture suggests.  After an enemy is knocked down, you have the opportunity to ‘finish your opponent’ in a flurry of slashes and blood.  It is not very pleasant to be on the receiving end as you can imagine.  While the melee classes such as footknight and footman are fun to play, my favourite has to be the Longbowman/archer.  There is something just so satisfying when you nail an opponent with a well placed arrow to the knee. lol.  And you can actually do that because the game allows you to target certain body areas/weak points in armour.  Headshots are fun too.

The main gripe I have is that there are only two game modes: Deathmatch and Capture the Flag.  While fun, I think the game could do with some more (see Chivalry: Medieval Warfare below for examples).  Also, there is no persistent stats tracking.

Overall, a really satisfying game that is quite pretty to look at too!

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

My experiences with War of the Roses led me to find another medieval slasher called Chivalry: Medieval Warfare.  While taking place during the same general time period, I have found that these two games are actually quite different.

Chivalry contains very little chivalry as far as I can tell.  Even more than War of the Roses, Chivalry excels at being incredibly gruesome and violent.  Arms, legs, and heads are chopped off with reckless abandon.  Soldiers emit disgusting gurgling sounds as they lie dying on the battlefield.  It certainly is visceral.

Chivalry also has a nice variety of game modes including Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, King of the Hill, Capture the Flag, and others.  I like the King of the Hill the best so far.  In this mode you have to break into a castle using a battering ram and attempt to assassinate the king.  Easier said than done!

I also have found Chivalry to be quite hilarious at times.  I love all the different battle cries that the devs have incorporated into the game, and it is hilarious to have all your teammates screaming at the same time before going into battle.

Indeed, while not as customizable as War of the Roses, Chivalry more than makes up for it with its sheer brutality, funny sound effects, and a nice range of game modes.  I’ll be mucking around in this one for a while!

In Summary

To sum up: War of the Roses has commandeered most of my time so far, but Chivalry is rapidly gaining.  XCOM is probably the slow burner of the group and will take me longer to complete.  I guess right now I am just having fun doing the medieval slash thing.  Happy gaming!

About carnagepcgame

I have been a PC gamer since 1988 when my dad brought home a Commodore Amiga 500 home for Christmas. My favourite genres are Racing and First Person Shooters.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

