I wanna make a PC Game…


Good Day, eh!

I recently read a book by Anna Anthropy entitled: Rise of the Videogame Zinesters: How Freaks, Normals, Amateurs, Artists, Dreamers, Dropouts, Queers, Housewives, and People Like You Are Taking Back an Art Form.  I really liked this book because Anna showed that it is possible for people with little or no knowledge of programming can (and should) begin utilizing this medium to express themselves.  A wide variety of free programming tools are available now that can help the beginner, programs like GameMaker and Scratch.  Essentially, she asserts that videogames need to ‘grow up’ and should start addressing a wider spectrum of issues describing the human condition aside from men shooting other men in the face.   I have to say I agree.  There is a reason that other forms of media don’t take videogames seriously – it’s because they generally don’t appeal to people other than teenage boys and young men.

She says that the ordinary joe (and jill) like you and me can (unlike large publishers/developers) afford to be creative and take risks in videogame design.  Design a game about your dog or cat being put down, your first date – literally anything – and the more variety in gaming experiences that are out there, the better.

I downloaded the GameMaker 8 program from Anna’s site and I mucked around in it for while, but, what do I make a game about?

Any ideas?  I think I should make this a personal project of mine to actually create a game by myself.  More to follow on this.

Talk later.

About carnagepcgame

I have been a PC gamer since 1988 when my dad brought home a Commodore Amiga 500 home for Christmas. My favourite genres are Racing and First Person Shooters.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wanna make a PC Game…

  1. Rob Cornwall says:

    Make a game about Oktoberfest? Side scroller jumping over tables and high-fiving uncle hans, and doing the chicken dance? haha I dont know

Leave a Reply

